Tripura election result: BJP retain power in Tripura by winning 32 seats

Guwahati: The BJP retained power in Tripura for second consecutive term winning 32 seats in the 60-member state assembly, the result which was declared on Thursday.

The BJP supporters celebrated their win in Tripura by bursting crackers.

The tribal-based Tipra Motha Party (TMP), which for the first time contested the assembly election in 42 seats on its own, became the second single largest party securing 13 seats.

The CPI-M won 11 seats while the Congress won three seats. The CPI-M led Left Front, which contested the elections in a seat sharing deal with Congress, has put up 47 candidates allotting 13 to the Congress.

The candidate of BJP ally Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) won the Jolaibari seat in southern Tripura.

In the February 16 elections to the 60-seat Tripura Assembly, 89.95 per cent of the 28.14 lakh voters exercised their franchise and will decide the fate of 259 candidates, including 31 women.

In the 2018 assembly polls, the BJP got 36 seats and its ally bagged eight seats while the CPI-M secured 16 seats.

“We are happy that for the second consecutive term, BJP has won elections in Tripura. For last several years, the people of Tripura was oprresed under left regime now, we can take breath in fresh air,” said a BJP supporter.

Tripura, which was fortress of Left party, but the people of the state has overthrown the left regime completely. In 2018, for the first time Left was badly defeated in the hands of BJP.

This time, Left and Congress had formed an alliance to contest against the BJP, but they could not performed well.

The post <strong>Tripura election result: BJP retain power in Tripura by winning 32 seats</strong> appeared first on OUR INDIA.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Generated by Feedzy
No widgets found. Go to Widget page and add the widget in Offcanvas Sidebar Widget Area.