Tripura: Manik Saha to continue as Tripura CM for second term

Guwahati: BJP leader Manik Saha set to continue as Tripura chief minister even as some BJP legislature are in favour of replacing him.

According to sources, a section of BJP legislatures are in favour of Pratima Bhowmik who has won the Dhanpur seat.

Bhowmik is a central minister but she consted the Tripura assembly polls from Dhanpur constituency which was known as a Left bastion.

Sources said Manik Saha will contunue as Tripura chief minister. A legislature meeting held on Monday and al the BJP party members unanimously agreed to nominate Saha as chief minister.

Saha was a member of the Congress till 2016, when he moved over to the BJP. He eventually became the president of the party’s Tripura unit after Deb quit in 2020.

BJP stems from his clean image and his track record which includes crafting BJP’s victory in all thirteen civic bodies in the polls held in November 2021 in Tripura at a time when TMC was engaged in a turf war with the saffron party.

In 2021, the top brass of BJP selected Manik Saha as the chief minister of Tripura. From Biplab Kumar Deb, he took over the chiefministership of Tripura.

Manik Saha, former badminton player of repute in the state. He is also the President of Tripura Cricket Association, and is a maxillofacial surgeon by profession, having graduated from King George Medical College of Lucknow.

Manik Saha defeated vetern congress leader Ashish Kumar Saha by a margin of 1257 votes from Town Bardowali constituency.

The post Tripura: Manik Saha to continue as Tripura CM for second term appeared first on OUR INDIA.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Generated by Feedzy
No widgets found. Go to Widget page and add the widget in Offcanvas Sidebar Widget Area.