Tripura: Manik Saha to take oath as Tripura CM on March 8

Guwahati:  BJP leader Manik Saha is all set to take oath as the chief minister of Tripura for the second term.

 The swearing in ceremony will take place on March 8.

Saha submitted his resignation letter as the chief minister of Tripura  to  governor SN Arya at Raj Bhavan in Agartala on Friday.

Speaking to media persons, Manik Saha said, “I have submitted my resignation to the governor and he has asked me to continue as CM till the new government is formed. Swearing-in ceremony most likely to be held on March 8,”.

Manik Saha won by a margin of 1257 votes from Town Bardowali against Congress leader Ashish Kumar Saha.

Saha joined the saffron party in 2016. The 69-year-old Saha is a dental surgeon.

The BJP retained power for a second straight term in Tripura, by securing a majority in recently held assembly polls.

Meanwhile, BJP supporters expressed their happiness and started celebrating their party’s victory for second consecutive term.

The BJP-IPFT alliance returns to power in Tripura winning 33 seats in the 60-member assembly.

“In the last five years, lots of developmental work takes place in Tripura. The state was neglected for last several years under left rule. We are happy that our state will progress under BJP rule,” said a BJP supporter.

Tripura royal scion Pradyot Debbarma’s TIPRA Motha bagged 13 seats in its debut elections.

The Left-Congress alliance secured 14 seats.

On the TMC did not win a single of the 28 seats it contested in Tripura.

The Tripura assembly elections was held on February 16 and the results were announced on March 2.

The post Tripura: Manik Saha to take oath as Tripura CM on March 8 appeared first on OUR INDIA.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Generated by Feedzy
No widgets found. Go to Widget page and add the widget in Offcanvas Sidebar Widget Area.