Meghalaya election Result: Regional party NPP leading in 30 seats, inching towards victory

Guwahati: The National People’s Party (NPP) has crossed halfway mark as it is leading in 30 seats and inching forward to create history for the second time.

The recently held Assembly elections recorded 63.91 per cent of voter turnout as per the Election Commission (ECI).

Out of 60 Assembly constituencies in Meghalaya, 36 constituencies fall in Khasi, Jaintia Hills region while 24 are in Garo Hills region.

The counting of ballots began at 8 am on Thursday morning.

With the results coming in, NPP had won from Mendipathar, Dalu and Resubelpara constituency.

Marthon J Sangma won from Mendipathar seat, Brening A Sangma won from Dalu seat by defeating BJP’s Akki A Sangma by a close margin, and Timothy D. Shira of NPP won from.

Marthon J Sangma secured 9165 votes. He defeated his nearest rival by 3925 votes. His nearest rival was Timjim K. Momin of Congress, who secured 5420 votes. The total votes counted were 24357.

There were over 21 lakh voters of which 10.99 lakh are women and 10.68 lakh were male.

Meghalaya chief minister Conrad Sangma said they will form the government for second time.

The post <strong>Meghalaya election Result: Regional party NPP leading in 30 seats, inching towards victory</strong> appeared first on OUR INDIA.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Generated by Feedzy
No widgets found. Go to Widget page and add the widget in Offcanvas Sidebar Widget Area.